Australian Immigration Self Assessment Test

Australian Immigration Self-Assessment Test.

There are different visas for which the applicant can apply and one is the Skilled Visa which comes under the GSMP, which is the acronym for General Skilled Migration Program. It is a point based visa and the applicant needs to qualify to be given the visa. There are many other point based visas like the Skilled Regional visa, the Skilled Nominated visa or Skilled Independent visa. Besides, the point based visas, there are other non-points based visas, which are sponsored visas.

The sum total of the points gathered by the applicant needs to be adequate enough to ensure that the applicant is invited to put in an application.

The Factors On Which Points Are Calculated:

1. The Age:

The age group that is considered eligible to apply for citizenship is 18 years to 49 years of age. The points awarded are divided into different slabs and they are:

  • From 18 years to 24 years – 25 points
  • From 25 years to 32 years – 30 points
  • From 33 years to 39 years – 25 points
  • From 40 years to 44 years – 15 points
  • From 45 years to 49 years – 0 points.

However, the person can apply for citizenship but would be awarded no points for age.

2. Proficiency in the English Language:

The proficiency in the English language is divided into 3 slabs for which points are awarded. They are:

  • Superior – 20 points
  • Proficient- 10 points
  • Competent – 0 Points.

The assessment of the English language skills is based on the score achieved in the IELTS, which is the acronym for International English Language Testing System.

The test assesses all four modules of language learning, which are speaking, reading, listening and writing. The IELTS test is of two types; one is the General test and the other is the Academic Test.

  • For a Superior Score - the applicant must score 8 in all the four modules of IELTS.
  • For a Proficient Score - the applicant must score 7 in all the four modules of IELTS.
  • For a Competent Score - the applicant must score 6 in all the four modules of IELTS.

Apart from IELTS, there are other test that are conducted to assess the proficiency of the English Language and they are PTE or the Pearson’s Test of English, TOEFL or Test of English as a Foreign Language and some other tests.

Applicants holding the passport of the countries like the UK, the USA, Ireland, Canada and New Zealand, will automatically be considered to be in the Competent category and will be awarded zero points, but by taking the qualifying exam, the applicant can increase the total points by scoring more in the tests.

3. Academic Qualification:

Points are awarded on the basis of academic qualification of the applicant and the points are as follows:

  • Doctorate Degree – 20 points
  • Bachelor Degree- 15 Points

Australian Diploma which may also include a qualification in the given trade or a recognized qualification in a Skill assessed by an authorized body – 10 points

4. The Skills of the Applicant:

There are two categories in the skills list and they are:

  • Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL)
  • Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL)

About 457 visas were abolished by the Australian Government in April 2017, and changed the description of the list of skill sets in which some old ones were included while some were discarded.

5. The Work Experience in the profession in which skilled:

Points are awarded on the basis of the work experience that the applicant has over the period of the last ten years. The points awarded is as follows:

  • 3 years – 5 points (Overseas) / 10 points (Australian Experience)
  • 5 years - 10 points (Overseas) / 15 points (Australian Experience)
  • 8 years - 15 points (Overseas) / 20 points (Australian Experience)
  • 5 Points are also awarded for a minimum of a year’s Australian experience

6. Partner Points:

The applicants are eligible to increase their total with 5 points with the help of their partner’s eligibility points. The eligibility criteria for the inclusion of Partner points include:

  • Partner should be below 50 years of age
  • Competent level of English
  • Is skilled in a skill belonging to the same occupation list as the main applicant.

Know more about Australian Citizen, Citizenship test & Immigration